How I Ended Up At IPR

I’ve been involved in music almost my whole life. Following in my older brothers’ footsteps of becoming a musician, I started taking guitar lessons when I was 7 years old. That lasted for a couple of years before I began to self-teach myself the more technical aspects of the instrument. I began getting into bands like Metallica and Pantera at an early age and that has heavily shaped where I am today in terms of musicality and technicality.

Throughout my life, music has always been the one constant that I’ve never strayed away from. In high school, I was (thankfully) introduced to a program offered through my high school (Anoka) called STEP (Secondary Technical Education Program). This program offered music production courses that sounded really interesting. This is where I met my teacher, David Flavin. David is a very successful producer who introduced me to the world of production and recording. This was the first time I’d ever recorded anything despite having been a musician and played in multiple bands throughout my life. I fell in love with it and am extremely grateful for having had David as a teacher.

Following high school and not really sure where to go with my life, I decided to go to community college to get most of my generals done and take some music theory courses until I figured out what field I wanted to go into. Throughout my time at community college, I realized that there was really only one thing I wanted to do in life; work with music. I decided to enroll at the Institute of Production and Recording because of their extremely credible staff and state of the art studios. Here I am in my second quarter and I absolutely love my school. I’ve never been more passionate about the art of music until I started going here and I plan to achieve my dreams of working with music as a career.

“If you love what you do, you’ll never have to work a day in your life.”

P.s.

If you’re interested in finding more out about the Institute of Production and Recording, visit this link!

Leave a Reply

